Spelling Bee

The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee


  • September 9th, 7:30pm
  • September 10th, 7:30pm
  • September 11th, 2:00pm
  • September 16th, 7:30pm
  • September 17th, 7:30pm
  • September 18th, 2:00pm
  • September 23rd, 7:30pm
  • September 24th, 7:30pm
  • September 25th, 2:00pm

Winner of the Tony and the Drama Desk Awards for Best Book, six mid-pubescents vie for the spelling championship of a lifetime. While candidly disclosing hilarious and touching stories from their home lives, the tweens spell their way through a series of words, hoping never to hear the soul-crushing "ding" of the bell that signals a spelling mistake. A riotous ride, complete with audience participation, this musical is a delightful den of comedic genius.

Spelling Bee Cast (Instagram Post)

The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee

A Musical Comedy by Rachel Sheinkin and William Finn

Please be advised, this show is recommended for ages 12+. Please contact us at admin@cinnabartheater.org for any questions.

Director: Zachary Hasbany

Music Director: Bill Keck

Choreographer: Bridget Codoni
Stage Manager: Ross Tiffany Brown
Set Designer: Brian Watson
Light Designer: Wayne Hovey
Costume Designer: Donnie Frank


Alejandro Eustaquio as Charlito "Chip" Tolentino
Gabi Chun as Marcy Park
John Browning as Vice Principal Douglas Panch
Karen Miles as Rona Lisa Peretti
Krista Joy Serpa as Olive Ostrovsky
Sam Minnifield as Mitch Mahoney
Tina Traboulsi as Logainne "Schwartzy" SchwartzandGrubenierre
Trevor Hoffmann as William Morris Barfée
Zane Walters as Leaf Coneybear

Get Your Tickets

"Can you spell I-R-R-E-S-I-S-T-I-B-L-E? A riotously funny and entirely adorable new musical."

New York Times

"The Spelling Bee characters are not only consistently hilarious but also have their own awkward grace as they relate to each other under pressure."


William Finn (composer) Mr. Finn is the writer and composer of Falsettos, for which he received two Tony Awards, Best Book of a Musical (with James Lapine) and Best Original Score. He has also written and composed In Trousers, March of the Falsettos and Falsettoland (Outer Critics Circle Award for Best Musical, two Los Angeles Drama Critic's Awards, two Drama Desk Awards, the Lucille Lortel Award, and Guggenheim Fellowship in Musical Composition). Mr. Finn wrote the lyrics to Graciela Daniele's Tango Apasionado (music by the great Astor Piazzolla) and, with Michael Starobin, the music to Lapine's version of The Winter's Tale. His musical, Romance in Hard Times, was presented at the Public Theater. Recently, he wrote Painting You for Love's Fire, a piece commissioned and performed bye the Acting Company, based on Shakepeare's sonnets. For television, Mr. Finn provided the music and lyrics for the Ace Award-winning HBO cartoon "Ira Sleeps Over," "Tom Thumb and Thumbelina," "Pokey Little Puppy's First Christmas," and, with Ellen Fitzhugh, two "Brave little Toaster" cartoons. Mr. Finn has written for Vogue, Harper's Bazaar, and The New Yorker. A graduate of Williams College where he was awarded the Hutchinson Fellowship for Musical Composition, Finn now teaches a weekly master class at the NYU Tisch Graduate Program in Musical Theatre Writing. His most recent projects include Elegies, A Song Cycle (Lincoln Center) and The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee which ran on Broadway and has been produced nationally and internationally, as well.

Rachel Sheinkin (Book) Broadway: The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee (Tony, Drama Desk awards); Off Broadway: Striking 12 (Lucille Lortel nomination), Off-Off: Serenade. Regional: Guthrie, Little House on the Prairie; Center Theater Group, Sleeping Beauty Wakes (Los Angeles Ovation Award); London: Blood Drive. Residencies, fellowships, commissions include: Eugene O'Neill National Theater Center, Baryshnikov Dance Foundation, MacDowell Colony, Manhattan Theatre Club, Deaf West, McCarter Theatre, Playwrights Horizons. Rachel is a volunteer mentor for TDF's Open Doors program, a visiting instructor at Yale School of Drama, and adjunct faculty member of NYU's Graduate Musical Theater Writing Program.

Thanks to our 2022/2023 Sponsors!

Hewlett Foundation

Clay Foundation – West

Carney Foundation

Community Foundation/Sonoma County

Lew & Janet Baer

Elaine & Chris Stevick

Gene & Elizabeth Wright

Don Duffala & Sandy Smethurst

Bergin Family Foundation

Petaluma Community Guild

Rich & Diane Zimmerman

Kim & Clyde Schultz, DDS

Exchange Bank

We acknowledge & thank all the sponsors of this season.

We couldn’t do it without you!

You, too can become a sponsor of our productions

See cinnabartheater.org/support